We decided to bring in a fair billing policy à la Slack for all teams because we deeply believe that users should only get charged for what they really use.

In a nutshell

If you have a team on our Standard or Business plan, you’ll be billed for active members only
Any changes to the number of active, paid members in your workspace will be reflected in your billing statement, every month on the same day as your subscription day
You will receive an email when the activity changes among your team (at most 1 email per day)
A member becomes inactive after 30 days of inactivity
If all members become inactive, you are billed for a minimum of one seat

Creating your team

When you subscribe to a paid plan for your team on Drovio, you will be charged a minimum of one seat.
You can add as many members as you want, whose seats won’t be charged until the members become active and start using the app. You will be charged every month for any new activity, on the same day as your subscription day.

Example:

If you’re on a monthly billing cycle:
- On April 5, you create a new team of 5 members (including you). You choose the monthly Standard plan. The same day, we will charge you for a minimum of 1 seat, which is $15.
- On April 15, 3 out of 4 members become active.
- On May 5, you receive an invoice for 3 new seats prorated to the number of days they were active.

You will then be charged for: ($15 ÷ 30 days x 20 remaining days x 3 seats) = $30

If you’re on a yearly billing cycle:
- On April 5, you create a new team of 5 members (including you). You choose the yearly Standard plan. The same day, we will charge you for a minimum of 1 seat, which is $150.
- On April 15, 3 out of 4 members become active.
- On May 5, you receive an invoice for 3 new seats prorated to the number of days they were active.

You will then be charged for: ($150 ÷ 365 days x 355 remaining days x 3 seats) = $437.60

Adding new members during your billing period

If you’re on a paid plan and add new members partway through the billing period, we’ll only charge for the time they used the application.
You can check a member’s status at any time on this page.

Example:

If you chose a monthly billing cycle:
We'll calculate the prorated cost and bill you on renewal date for any new members added.

Your team is on the Standard plan and you're paying $15 per month per member. Ten days into your billing period, you add a new member. There are 20 days remaining in your monthly billing period.

To calculate the prorated cost for adding a new member, we’d divide the cost per member by the number of days in the month, then multiply by the remaining number of days in the month:
($15 ÷ 30 days x 20 remaining days) = $10

If you choose the yearly billing cycle:
We'll calculate the prorated cost for the rest of the year, and bill you on renewal date for any new members added.

Your team is on the Standard plan and you're paying $150 per year per member. 2 months into your billing period, you add a new member. There are 10 months left in your yearly billing period.

To calculate the prorated cost for adding a new member, we’d divide the cost per member by the number of months in the year, then multiply by the remaining number of months:
($150 ÷ 12 months x 10 remaining months) = $125

Deleting members during your billing period

If you want to delete a member partway through the billing period, we’ll credit you for the remaining time of the seat.
If you’re on a monthly billing cycle, we'll calculate the prorated cost of the remaining time for the rest of the month and credit you on renewal date for any deleted seat.
If you’re on a yearly billing cycle, we'll calculate the prorated cost of the remaining time for the rest of the year, and credit you the following month, on the same day as your subscription day.

When you'll see credit card charges

You'll see the first credit card charge for 1 seat the day you subscribe to a paid plan, and then every month on the same day as your subscription day, you will receive an invoice with a detailed view of active, inactive, new and deleted seats. In case the debit amount exceeds the credit, your credit card will be charged on the same day.

How inactive members affect billing

Paid members are only billable if they’re actively using Drovio. We will automatically detect if members become inactive, after 30 straight days of inactivity. If that happens, we'll add prorated credits to your account, calculated on the unused portion of the billing period, until your next renewal date.
Those credits will be applied toward future payments, such as new members becoming active or your next renewal date.

Active vs Inactive members

Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!